Murphy Administration Announces Partnership to Provide Free Virtual Mental Health Services for College Students throughout NJ

May 25, 2023

On May 23, 2023, Governor Phil Murphy and Secretary of Higher Education Dr. Brian Bridges announced a partnership between New Jersey and Uwill, a mental health and wellness platform, to provide 24/7 access to free virtual mental health services for students at 44 institutions of higher education throughout New Jersey.

This partnership represents the first of its kind in the United States to offer comprehensive tele-mental health services to college students through a statewide approach that spans both public and private institutions of higher education.

Governor Murphy was quoted in a news release saying, “With the challenges these past few years have presented, young people around New Jersey and the nation are facing a mental health crisis like never before. It is incumbent upon us to do everything in our power to provide young people with access to the support they need, which is something my Administration will continue to prioritize . . . Making teletherapy services available to countless college students on campuses throughout our state is a key component of our ongoing efforts to address the mental health needs of our young people and promote safe and inclusive learning environments in New Jersey.”

All public and independent institutions with a public mission that receive state operating aid are eligible. Of these, 96 percent have chosen to participate in the partnership, including: Atlantic Cape Community College, Bergen County Community College, Bloomfield College, Brookdale Community College, Caldwell University, Camden County College, Centenary University, County College of Morris, Drew University, Essex County College, Fairleigh Dickinson University, Felician University, Georgian Court University, Hudson County Community College, Kean University, Mercer County Community College, Middlesex College, Monmouth University, Montclair State University, New Jersey City University, New Jersey Institute of Technology, Ocean County College, Passaic County Community College, Princeton University, Ramapo College, Raritan Valley Community College, Rider University, Rowan College at Burlington County, Rowan College of South Jersey, Rowan University, Rutgers University (Camden, Newark, New Brunswick), Saint Elizabeth University, Saint Peter’s University, Salem County Community College, Seton Hall University, Stevens Institute of Technology, Stockton University, Sussex County Community College, The College of New Jersey, Union College of Union County, New Jersey, Warren County Community College, and William Paterson University of New Jersey.

Click here to read more on this partnership.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Youtube
© NJAMHAA 2023 - powered by EggZack